What doesn’t kill you, only makes you STRONGER

mad-lady

Growing up, all I have ever known is track and field. Never played any other sports and to be totally honest, never wanted to. Being so, I pride myself on being the best at every event that I compete in; ensuring that with every performance I can walk away from it knowing there was nothing else I could have done, there was nothing left to give. It is because of these moments that I have grown so fond of this sport and all that it has to offer. As cliche as this may sound, this sport has helped shaped me not only as an athlete, but as an individual as well. I have learned to be a competitor in every aspect of my life; putting my best foot forward for everything that I take part in. Through the difficult moments on the track I have maintained the mentality to be steadfast and and stretch beyond the can nots off the track.

Through the years, people have become so familiar with the saying ” what doesn’t kill you, only makes you stronger” and I agree wholeheartedly with this quote. As an athlete you are pushed to your limits day in and day out  (and maybe even a little passed that point). Having a strong frame of mind, in these circumstances, goes a longer way than what one would assume. Being able to push yourself pass what you believe is the end is all encompassed in your mental wherewithal. ( and of course, there is always that argument of whether athletics is more physical than it is mental and vice versa.) Having the ability to push pass the mental warfare on a day-to-day basis is something I get a kick out of everyday. I would have never of even fathomed that one day I’d exceed the expectations that I had placed on myself. That with that one decision to first participate in intercollegiate athletics and then to actually persevere. Nope, not beyond my wildest dreams, but in a sense I believe that that exact experience is the most compelling aspect of this sport. It so unpredictable and just when you think you have it all figured out.. it pulls Cinderella and leaves the ball, only leaving behind a glass slipper.

I can’t imagine doing anything else, no disrespect to all other sports, TRACK AND FIELD ROCKS!

Leave a Reply

