Words of encouragement

PRICELESS:

Stage One Wishing, hoping, praying to find my zone An important game A game to play with heart A game that must be won First comes the huddle, bring it Then comes the break The whistle blows, and it’s time to start It’s the calm before the storm Flash! Insecurities spread through my body like cancer Doubts fuels my internal fire of losing I pray for confidence

Time for stage two, push Nervousness is gone Doubt is eliminated A mindless body takes over A body that has been trained A body that knows what to do Nothing left to do but focus Distracting flies crowd the stands Their red shirts tell you who they are Familiar faces yet so unfamiliar They are there for one reason Watching, waiting, wanting to see me fail Their secret revenge for my supposed disloyalty Time to prove them wrong

Back to the game We want it more Time to play harder The ball floats through the air and whispers good luck A message from God I check the scoreboard after every play Too focused to keep track in my mind A point for us, a point for them Trading points like we are trading secrets

My heart begins to beat faster, faster, faster It’s back Nervousness is my new rival I check again The game is approaching its end Disappointment of losing Is that how it will end? The second push Struggling up the mountain Who will make it there first Us or them No more team names, no more colors Just us or them Shortness of breath and a beating heart is all I can hear Close calls by the referee determine the game

Stage three Game over, I can breathe easy again Happiness sizzles through my veins My body is left soothed with tranquility Composed, cool, still The joy of winning, priceless

-anonymous

Leave a Reply

