Rose gained 10 lbs of muscle

The countdown continues to the start of the NBA regular season. With training camp opening next Saturday, Derrick Rose said in a recent interview with Slam Online that he gained 10 pounds of muscle.

Rose on his health status:

“Right now I’m in training, and I’m getting a lot stronger. I gained 10 pounds of muscle. I don’t know how that’s going to carry over to how I play on the court, but I know it’s going to be very weird. I’m shooting a lot of shots right now, working with Rob, just putting memory back in my leg.”

How added muscle will affect him:

“With me, I was always kind of strong, but the way that I play, I hit tricky lay-ups and all of that stuff because going to the hole in my neighborhood, they don’t call any fouls, so I was just used to hitting all types of shots. Now this year, I got a little more strength behind me, so I think going to the hole, taking those shots, I’ll be able to finish a lot stronger this year. There should be a lot more and-ones, hopefully.”

How his body has been affected during rehab:

“I think I’m a lot quicker, a lot more explosive, and I think I’m gonna go this year without that many nagging injuries, just trying to prevent it by stretching and doing all the things I have to do to take care of my body. When you first come in the League and you’re talented and you’re athletic, you don’t care about stretching or anything. You just kind of go out there and overlook that stuff. But now it’s my sixth year, so you really have to look at that and take that more seriously so I can prevent all of the little injuries.”

After missing all of last season, the excitement for “the return” has rose and with this interview it has to get fans more and more excited for the upcoming season.

The Bulls open the season at rival Miami on October 29th, where they will watch the enshrinement of the championship banner being released along with the Heat receiving their championship rings.

Rose definitely picked the right game to make the anticipated return.

Here’s a video that will get all Bulls fans ready!

Photo courtesy goes to Keith Allison

 

 

Leave a Reply

