Song Review: Automatic by Miranda Lambert

I haven’t been much of a Miranda Lambert fan for several years now. I enjoyed her early albums Kerosene and Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, but ever since I saw her open for Brad Paisley and realized just how whiny her voice actually sounds live, her music has not appealed to me.

I was in the car the other day, and I heard Lambert’s latest tune come on the radio. This track is called “Automatic”, and the overall theme of the song is about how technology and new inventions have changed the way we live our lives. It’s got a kind of “good ole days” tone about it.

Take, for example, the first verse:

Quarter in a payphone
Drying laundry on the line
Watching Sun Tea in the window
Pocket watch tellin’ time
Seems like only yesterday I’d get a blank cassette
Record the country countdown ’cause I couldn’t buy it yet

If we drove all the way to Dallas just to buy an Easter dress
We’d take along a Rand McNally, stand in line to pay for gas
God knows that shifting gears ain’t what it used to be
I learned to drive that 55 just like a queen, three on a tree

In this song, Lambert reminisces about a simpler time in our history, when technology didn’t rule our lives and we could be disconnected from the world for a little while. I really connected with this song when I first heard it, because I miss the days when I didn’t have a cellphone, a laptop, and a Facebook page. I miss having to actually call someone on the phone or have to write them a letter if you wanted to communicate with them. Our society is so into instant gratification and having the latest and greatest that money can buy that we forget to take in and appreciate  the little things in life.

“Automatic” is the first single off Lambert’s new album “Platinum,” set to drop June 3.  This song is Lambert’s highest-charting single in the first week of being released, and debuted at #26 on the Billboard country airplay chart. 

If the rest of “Platinum” is as good as this single, I may just come to be a Miranda Lambert fan once again.

Leave a Reply

