Dragons of Tarkir Prerelease

This weekend I participated in the Dragons of Tarkir prerelease event, and I was impressed with how much fun this expansion was in limited format.

The first night at the midnight prerelease I was geared up and ready to crack open some packs. I had starved myself of most of the spoilers since I had been otherwise occupied with work and school so I had no clue what to expect from the commons and uncommons. I chose Silumgar as my dragon brood and was pleased to see that the seeded pack included only black and blue commons and uncommons to go with my seeded pack rare, which was Necromaster Dragon. There was a great amount of synergy between the black exploit mechanic and several of my blue cards that allowed me to draw cards when that creature dies. Sacrificing cards like Palace Familiar and Youthful Scholar was pretty amazing with the exploit effects from Rakshasa Gravecaller, Vulturous Aven, and Pitiless Horde. The real superstar of my deck that night was a rare enchantment called Corpseweft. Having this enchantment in play all but guarantees a victory as you exploit creatures to the graveyard and then turn them into zombie horrors. All this plus two copies of Ultimate Price has me wondering about my 3-1finish. Let’s just say, I don’t want to talk about it. The manner in which I was blown out one match loss is pretty embarrassing.

From across the table, some other clear limited superstars were apparent. Dragonlord Dromoka was pretty insane, as was Sarkhan Unbroken. Some amazing uncommons were all the uncommon dragons, Ultimate Price, Dragon Hunter, Death Wind, Sight of the Scalelords, and Void Squall. There are some great commons I haven’t mentioned yet as well including Twin Bolt, Sarkhan’s Rage, Reckless Imp, Anticipate, really just too many to mention. This set is going to be amazing to draft, and I can’t wait to start passing these cards around the table.

Leave a Reply

