Image

 

This piece of multimedia journalism shows people in their element. Moreno said the purpose for this piece was to show authenticity. I think that this piece attracts viewers because it is visually appealing. It is interesting to see what people enjoy doing. These images not only capture emotion, they also capture the interest of people. 

 

 

Image

 

This was one of my favorite pieces by Moreno. He used the sounds of the wrestling along with pictures to make this piece of multimedia journalism. I think that this is a good example of multimedia journalism because it captures people in action. The way Moreno included the sounds from wrestling along with photographs make the viewers feel like they are actually there. 

 

Image

 

This is another example of multimedia journalism that captures people doing some sort of action. However, the action is unique and something you would not see everyday. I think that the uniqueness of the action is appealing to viewers because it leaves them curious and wanting more. 

 

Image

 

This piece is a good example of how Moreno used shadowing to capture emotion. This piece feels sad because of the shadowing technique he used. If it was just an ordinary colored picture with bright lighting we would not see the same affect. He used also used shadowing to make the viewer focus on a specific object in the photograph. 

Image

 

This piece captures emotion but it is in color unlike his last few pieces. I think that the color in the photograph changes the mood completely. In a sense, it makes the piece more lifelike and easier to relate to. However, the fact that it is in color makes it easier to get distracted and not focus on the subject. 

Image

 

This piece is in black and white and it captures street stompers. Moreno used his photographs to tell the story of the stompers. The unique angles used made you feel like you were one of them. I also thought the topic was unique. Street stompers are not something you hear of everyday. 

Image

 

This piece focuses on animals more than humans. I thought this was interesting because it is something different than the subject he normally chooses. This shows that Moreno is a versatile multimedia journalist. This piece really shows the strength that the animals have to pull a sled. It shows that what they are doing is no easy task. 

 

Image

 

I enjoyed this piece because it wasn’t as serious as some of the rest but it was still a great piece of journalism. I think that it displayed humor as well as sparked a curiosity in the viewer. This is an example of how not all multimedia journalism has to be over a serious topic. I thought the interviewing was good along with the shots of the dog. It really kept the viewer entertained which is the job of a journalist. 

Image

 

 

This was another light-hearted topic that kept the viewers entertained. I liked this piece because it gave me ideas for unique camera angles. The variety of shots used made this piece of multimedia journalism interesting. Moreno used shots that I would normally not think of. 

Image

 

I especially liked this piece of multimedia journalism because it had some unique shots. I would never think to do most of the shots he chose. It was displayed with classical music which gave the piece more of a fancy feel. I felt that this showed some of the beautiful architecture we have around the world. 

 

Jose F. Moreno is a talented multimedia journalist. His pictures reflect hard work and a true knowledge of photography. I especially liked that his pictures told a story. All of the pictures I viewed were set to a story. Whether it was Moreno talking or someone else, all the pictures were narrated. I feel that his narrating skills along with his picture timeline show that he is a multimedia journalist. I believe this to be true because he would have to write the script for the narration. Many of the scripts written were done well.  A good multimedia journalist has to be well rounded in writing, photography and videography. After viewing Moreno’s work I believe he is a good multimedia journalist.

            Many of his pictures captured the emotion on people’s faces. This made me want to view more of his pictures. Moreno’s pictures were visually appealing. He followed the rule of thirds while taking his pictures, which made the photograph more appealing to the eye. The rule of thirds is a great way to draw people to your photograph. I think that Moreno kept that in mind while capturing his photographs.

            Another thing I liked about Moreno’s photographs was that some of them were black and white. Many of his slideshows displayed pictures that had no color. I like the black and white photographs because I think it leaves room for imagination. By choosing to display black and white images Moreno left it up to the viewers imagination to decide what colors were in the photograph. I also like black and white images because the viewers are not distracted by color. This way they can focus all of their attention on the subject. I think Moreno intentionally chose black and white to focus the viewer’s attention on the subject.

            Moreno also used unique angles and shadows to add to his photographs. In some of the photographs the viewer does not see the subjects face but rather the action they are doing. I think this makes the photograph more interesting because the subjects face does not distract you. Moreno used shadows and angles to make his viewers focus on a certain aspect of the photograph.

            Moreno’s videos also showed that he was a talented multimedia journalist. He kept his filming visually interesting with natural sound clips in his work. His videos also showed that he followed the rule of thirds rule. Moreno had interesting shots that you would not normally see.

            I liked Moreno’s work because I felt he did something that viewers would not see everywhere. He did not follow the norm. I think that his uniqueness paid off because his work is incredible. I also think that the way he tells a story sets him apart from the rest. It is our job as journalists to keep the viewer entertained and I think that Moreno accomplished that with his work. He kept people entertained through his angles, shadowing, rule of thirds and unique shots. I think that Moreno is an excellent example of a good multimedia journalist.